[ loading / cargando ]

BLP triumphs with Triple Win at the 2024 IFLR Americas Awards

On the evening of May 15th, amidst an atmosphere of celebration and commendation at the JW Marriott Essex House in New York City, IFLR proudly unveiled the recipients of the esteemed IFLR Americas Awards, marking its 25th anniversary. Among the distinguished winners, BLP emerged triumphant, clinching three prestigious accolades. 

The firm’s exceptional performance secured three notable awards: Capital Markets Firm of the Year – Central America; National Firm of the Year – Costa Rica; and the groundbreaking Net Zero Transition Award. These accolades underscore BLP’s leadership in orchestrating some of the most consequential transactions within the region, showcasing its pivotal role in spearheading innovative, pioneering, and intricate operations within Central America’s capital markets arena. 

The Net Zero Transition Award is part of BLP’s commitment to mitigating its environmental footprint and displays a groundbreaking sustainability initiative, which serves as a trailblazing model throughout Latin America. 

Vivian Liberman, Partner and Director of ESG at the firm, reflects on this achievement: "This award is a testament to our relentless pursuit of a business model dedicated to addressing societal challenges. BLP’s environmental program is distinguished by its comprehensive and pragmatic approach, engaging a multitude of stakeholders." 

These remarkable feats have earned BLP prestigious certifications, including the Carbon Neutral Country Seal on nine occasions and the Ecological Blue Flag certification on ten. 

IFLR Awards are renowned within the industry for spotlighting legal innovation through transformative agreements, while also championing endeavors that enhance the cross-border investment landscape. 


About the IFLR Awards and the award criteria

The IFLR awards are conducted annually and focus exclusively on legally innovative cross-border transactions. This work underpins the deal, team and firm of the year awards, which cover capital markets, lending, mergers and acquisitions, private equity, project finance, restructuring and structured finance and securitization. In addition to the awards in the Americas, there are also awards in Africa, the Middle East, Europe and Asia-Pacific.

For the 2024 edition, deals that have not closed before the end of December 2023 were not considered. All deals must meet the cross-border criteria, unless otherwise stated.

The IFLR also rewards rising stars, in-house lawyers and teams, and innovation in legal technology, net-zero transition and financial regulation.

By focusing on innovation, the awards strive to recognize work that breaks new legal ground, develops the legal framework for cross-border corporate finance and improves the investment environment.

The IFLR takes into account the sophistication and complexity of the work and the impact of the legal innovation, as well as contextual challenges in implementation, such as political risk. Deal size, media coverage, commercial success or speed of the deal are not relevant.


Image: Mónica Malcotti, Anneliss Wohlers and Karla Gabriela Aguilar

Suscribe to our newsletter;


Our social media presence




  2018 - All rights reserved